mage

About a month ago I ‘unofficially’ joined #The Reading Quest in an attempt to stop jumping around from book to book without finishing them. There were several reading challenges on at the time, but I liked this one because there’s a quest board and I can be a mage and that makes me happy.

These are the books I put on my TBR list.

  • The First Book in a Series: Prince of Thorns, book #1 of the Broken Empire, by Mark Lawrence. 
  • A Book Set in a Different World: A Song for Lya, by George R.R. Martin.
  • A Book Based on Mythology: Eaters of the Dead, by Michael Crichton.
  • A Book that Contains Magic: The Eyes of the Dragon, by Stephen King. 
  • A Book With a One Word Title: Hex, by Thomas Olde Heuvelt.                             

It was actually a pretty slow reading month, I blame having a sore back and a looming novella deadline, but I did read A Song for Lya, started Eaters of the Dead but couldn’t get into it, so read Hex. I’ll get to the others eventually. I also managed to complete a couple of side quests:

  • Open World – Read Whatever You Want: I Am Legend by Richard Matheson (print) & Children of the New World by Alexander Weinstein (audiobook)
  • Expansion – Read a Companion Novel or Short Story: Dolly, by Susan Hill (audiobook)

I couldn’t be bothered adding up my points as I only participated to finish a few novels instead of being lured by the new shiny. I did waver a little. When I got bored with Hex, I’d read a couple of short stories (don’t get me wrong, I actually enjoyed Hex, but the middle was a bit slow so I took a break). That’s just how I rock. I don’t always play by the rules. That’s what it’s like to be bad-ass. 😎

FullSizeRender (4)For full details on #The Reading Quest read the original post at Read at Midnight.  Super-cute quest artwork by CW of Read, Think, Ponder.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

